MONTH IN REVIEW ✣ MAY

Doesn’t it feel like May just started? How is it already over? I guess it’s true what they say: time flies when you’re having fun. And by fun, I mean reading books. To quote the great Arthur the aardvark, having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a TBR pile! *jazz hands* He didn’t actually say that but let’s pretend he did because it works better. I know my blog is still fairly new and I’m still trying to work out all the kinks but it’s been fun so far. I can only go up from here and I can’t wait to get started. So, let’s talk about how the month of May finished up!

On a personal level, I finally, FINALLY finished university!!! Yep, I passed that pesky history course (never take Reading and Writing History it’s the worst….actually no, Archives is the worst but they both suck) and I am eligible for graduation! Please don’t ask me what I’m gonna do with my history degree, I have no idea. Ok, now that that’s out of the way let’s get down to why you’re really here: the books!! I managed to read about 5 books this month, with a couple rereads here and there, but I still don’t feel like 5 is that big a number. It kinda seems average, don’t you think? Most of them were pretty good reads and I was happy with most of them, but a couple could’ve been better I guess.

MAY READS

  1. Lifeblood by Gena Showalter – ☆☆1/2 It wasn’t horrible, but it also wasn’t great. I just felt like Lifeblood was missing a lot of what made Firstlife so great. It’s definitely a filler book with some unnecessary plot points so I suppose you can’t really expect much from it.
  2. Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han – ☆☆☆☆ Raise your hand if you’re still crying over Lara Jean and Peter K. This was literally the perfect ending to their story. You got to see more of their adorable relationship and you also saw Lara Jean grow and develop as a person, which is probably my favourite part of this book. Actually just seeing Lara Jean and Peter together and happy was my favourite part. He’s like the sweetest boyfriend and will do anything for Lara Jean and that just turns my heart to goo.
  3. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – ☆☆☆☆ I’ve already mentioned this in my review (which you can read here) but I feel like this was an important read. Not because it tells you that bullying is wrong but because it opens your eyes to how much your actions affect others which, in my opinion, is something we continually struggle to realize. I don’t regret this read whatsoever.
  4. Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas – ☆☆☆1/2 I had mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, I loved the premise of the whole “childhood best friends to lovers” trope but the way Misha reacted when he finally met Ryen in person? And continued to play her by pretending to be someone else? Can’t say I agree with that. The writing was good, the overall plot was good, but there were just some key moments or ideas that didn’t sit well with me.
  5. Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh – ☆☆☆☆ Out of all the books I read this month, this one was hands down my favourite. Like I said in my review (which you can read here) this book already won me over by being a Mulan retelling, aka one of my favourite Disney movies, and the way Ahdieh worked it into the novel was amazing. I loved everything from the characters to the plot to the romance to the writing…..I loved everything. Honestly, I need Renee Ahdieh to write my life.

In terms of rereads, I believe I only reread Falling Away by Penelope Douglas (one of my favourites), Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire, and I’m about halfway through Beautiful Redemption by Jamie McGuire (I’d finally gotten those two books in physical copy a few months back so I couldn’t not read them again). The fact that I’ve reread these books should tell you that I love them so there’s no need to talk about them.

READING CHALLENGE UPDATE

As of May 30, I am 50% done my reading challenge!! So far, in the year of 2017 I have read 35 out of 70 books, not including rereads (except for like, 2 books) but I will be adding all of my rereads at the end of the year. I’m also 7 books ahead of schedule, but who’s counting?

Currently, I am reading Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, and it is quite interesting so far.

I hope the month of May was as good to all of you as it was to me!

What did you read this month? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

