UPCOMING RELEASES ❀ JUNE

Ah, the sun is shining, the birds are singing, the bugs are all alive again (who let that happen?), and it’s a new month! And do you know what that means? A whole new batch of books will be released soon! *throws confetti* I don’t know about you, but I love the beginning of June (not as much as I love the It’s Gonna Be May meme, but “it’s gonna be June” doesn’t have the same ring to it). It’s also my birthday month but we don’t need to talk about that. Anyways, before I get completely off track, let’s talk about those upcoming book releases!! Sadly, looking at my Goodreads and my TBR list, I don’t have a whole lot of books coming out this month. It sucks, right? I’ll never understand why authors think it’s ok to release books throughout the school year but stay quiet during the summer. Oh well. Let’s get down to it!

1. OUR DARK DUET (MONSTERS OF VERITY #2) – JUNE 13

32075662

Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human, no matter how much he once yearned for it. He’s a monster with a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.

In case you’ve been living under a rock, Victoria Schwab is a badass, amazing author. Hands down, she is my favourite; I will read anything and everything by her. This series? Amazing. The first novel of this duology (I KNOW *cue the collective groan*), This Savage Song, follows two characters: Kate Harker, the human who’s more like a monster, and August Flynn, the monster who only wants to be human. Without giving too much away, Kate and August are on opposite sides of the war in Verity but are forced to work together if they want to stay alive. I’d like to point out that all of Schwab’s female characters are Slytherins and all of her male characters are Hufflepuffs (this isn’t a headcanon it’s 100% real). That bit of information makes this series 10x better, trust me. Another good thing about this book/series is how there isn’t really a forced romance between Kate and August, which is super rare in YA these days. That’s not to say I don’t want there to be a romance between Kate and August because I totally would!!! I just think it’s nice not to have it be a major plot point while these two are trying not to get killed. I completely devoured this book back in July and I’ve been dying to see what happens next.

Goodreads | Amazon

2. DAMAGED LIKE US (LIKE US #1) – JUNE 27

21427834

Don’t date your bodyguard.
It was the one rule he had to break.

Maximoff Hale is a force of nature. A ship unwilling to be steered. Headstrong, resilient, and wholly responsible — the twenty-two-year-old alpha billionaire can handle his unconventional life. By noon, lunch can turn into a mob of screaming fans. By two, his face is all over the internet.

Born into one of the most famous families in the country, his celebrity status began at birth.

He is certified American royalty.

When he’s assigned a new 24/7 bodyguard, he comes face-to-face with the worst case scenario: being attached to the tattooed, MMA-trained, Yale graduate who’s known for “going rogue” in the security team — and who fills 1/3 of Maximoff’s sexual fantasies.

Twenty-seven-year-old Farrow Keene has one job: protect Maximoff Hale. Flirting, dating, and hot sex falls far, far out of the boundary of his bodyguard duties and into “termination” territory. But when feelings surface, protecting the sexy-as-sin, stubborn celebrity becomes increasingly complicated.

Together, boundaries blur, and being exposed could mean catastrophic consequences for both.

If you’ve read the Addicted series by Krista and Becca Ritchie like I have, then you know how exciting this release is. If you haven’t, that’s ok! Even though the Like Us series is a spin-off from the Addicted series, it can TOTALLY be read as a standalone! All you need to know is that Maximoff Hale is the eldest son of Loren and Lily Hale, former alcoholic and sex addict, giant comic book nerds and essentially reality TV royalty in Philadelphia. And yes, they named their son after a frigging comic book character. Another super important thing to know about Maximoff (which I promise isn’t a spoiler) is that he’s bisexual! Do you understand how important that is for a NA novel??? IT’S HUGE. We’ve been kept in the dark about this book for the longest time, wondering and speculating how the twins would write it, who Maximoff’s love interest would be, etc etc, and now that we know I’m so ecstatic. While I’m super excited to meet Farrow and see how he and Maximoff fall in love (sidenote: Maximoff Hale has a bad boy kink pass it on), what I’m most excited about is to see what parts of him are like Lo and what parts are like Lily.

Goodreads | Amazon

3. REIGN OF SERPENTS (BLOOD OF GODS AND ROYALS #3) – JUNE 27

29765252

New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Herman entwines the real scandals of history with epic fantasy in this action-packed follow-up to EMPIRE OF DUST.

In REIGN OF SERPENTS, the ancient power of Snake Blood threatens the known world. While Prince Alexander struggles with a very deadly inner demon, his betrothed, Zofia, is on her way to him, to unite their kingdoms…even as she begins to realize where her true allegiance lies. The fierce Cynane meets her match-not in her future husband, the deranged king of Illyria, but in her great-great-grandfather, Talus, possessor of Smoke Blood, who will teach her the true meaning of betrayal. And marooned together on an island in the Mediterranean, romantic tension blooms between Katerina and Hephaestion as they learn of lost civilizations and discover a device that could help them do the impossible: kill the last living god.

Ok, I know what you’re thinking: this isn’t historically accurate AT ALL. But hey, this is a fictional series simply based on historical events so who cares? And this is coming from the history major so if I say it’s ok, then it’s ok. Honestly, this series is pretty insane. I won’t lie to you, I picked up the first book, Legacy of Kings, because it said it was based on Alexander the Great (I love Greek history) and the name Hephaestion reminded me of Hephaestus who is my favourite Greek god (yes, it’s a weird favourite to have but I did a project on him in grade 12 so I’m SUPER protective over him, ok?) and I was like “alright, I need this book.” I mean the plot sounded pretty cool too but it was mostly Hephaestion’s name that made me read it and I’m not sorry. Now, back to this series, it is so wild. It has magic, ships crashing and burning, ships rising, and a whole lot of secrets and deceit. At this point, I couldn’t care less if it was historically accurate or not. I’ve spent the last 5 years of my life reading historical documents and I’d like to take a break from history, if you don’t mind. It’s fiction, it’s meant to entertain, and I am beyond entertained with this series.

Goodreads | Amazon

Which book release are you most excited for? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

