REVIEW ✧ THE HATING GAME

25883848
“The trick is to find that one person who can give it back as good as they can take it.”

☆☆☆☆☆

Nemesis (n.)
1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome;
2) A person’s undoing;
3) Joshua Templeman.

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

I wish I could say I’m exaggerating when I say that this is one of the best books I’ve ever read but I’m not. This is one of the best books I have EVER read. This was actually recommended to me by one of my friends who knows me very well and I believe her exact words were something along the lines of “I’d be very surprised if you didn’t end up liking this book.” I don’t just like this book, I LOVE this book. It’s amazing that this is Sally Thorne’s first novel because of how great it is. I have so many things to say about this book so let’s get started!

THE GOOD

  • Sally Thorne is a wonderful writer. It’s not just the style that this book is written in but it’s everything from the pacing to the dialogue that makes it that much more enjoyable. One of the things I loved most about her writing was how hilarious it is. I can’t even remember how many times I found myself laughing out loud at something Lucy said (or thought) about Joshua and in turn that makes Lucy more likeable. To me, the way Thorne writes makes the book feel more organic and creates a more comfortable read. You’re not complaining about the story lagging or hating how the characters act. It ultimately makes The Hating Game a wonderful reading experience.
  • THE TROPES. There are two key tropes in this book give you that happy tingly feeling because you know something good’s gonna happen. The first is obviously haters-to-lovers (it’s called The Hating Game for a reason, people) and Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman could not be more perfect for this trope. Let me paint you a little picture here: on one hand we have our tiny little ray of sunshine and on the other hand is the giant and stoic grumpy cat. Sounds beautiful, doesn’t it? Now, imagine one of them being secretly in love with the other one but is too afraid to tell them so they use indifference as a defence mechanism. Doesn’t that just break your heart? The second trope, which is my all time favourite, is fake dating. Yes, the ray of sunshine and the grumpy cat have to pretend they’re dating. And it’s amazing. I’m not gonna tell you when or why this happens but I just want you to be aware that there is fake dating, ok? Cool.
  • Let’s talk about Joshua for a minute. Joshua Templeman is an angel. At first, because everything is in Lucy’s POV, you see Joshua the way she does and a lot of it is negative. You think he’s a jerk, you think he’s mean, you think he’s the worst…..basically you don’t like Joshua Templeman. But I am here to tell you that whatever you think of him you are dead wrong. There is SO much more to Mr. Joshua Templeman than what Lucy initially gives you and as you slowly get to know him you learn how great he is. I wish I could tell you everything about him but those would be spoilers and I’d never do that to you.
  • It’s almost impossible not to love Lucy. She’s smart, she’s witty, and she’s so unbelievably driven in her work. The thing I admire most about Lucy is that she always knew what she wanted to do with her life and she successfully accomplished it; she has her dream job. She has such wonderful ideas of how to make her work and the company better and she becomes someone who won’t let people push her around anymore. She might be tiny but she’s one of the strongest characters I’ve read about that’s just a “normal” girl (though she’s probably a lot stronger than some YA ladies I’ve read about too…..just saying). I’d love to be just like Lucy, I really would.

THE BAD

  • It’s only a standalone. I repeat: this book is a standalone. How can there not be more for these two????? I NEED MORE. I mean, yeah the ending is wonderful and it’s a nice little wrap up but dammit I want more.
  • I will say that the little games that Lucy and Joshua play can come off as being a bit childish when they’re both in their mid-20s. Personally, I found them to be quite humorous but for others, maybe not.

THE BOTTOM LINE

  • I’ve already read this book twice in like a two month span. That’s how good it is.

BONUS: how this book made me feel in a GIF

tumblr_nq85nj7Uvr1uupqxmo2_250

ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: The Hating Game
Author: Sally Thorne
Release Date: August 9, 2016
Pages: 363 (Paperback)
Goodreads

What did you think of the book? Leave a comment below!

One thought on “REVIEW ✧ THE HATING GAME

Leave a Reply

