CHARACTER OF THE WEEK ♡ JUNE 16

It’s time for one of the best days of the week!! Ok, I’ll be honest…..I almost forgot to do this today. I mean not because I didn’t want to do this, it’s more like I couldn’t decide who I should shower with love today. I thought and thought and thought and I finally chose my character. Now, unlike the previous COTWs (like that??) today’s character will be someone from a brand new book that I met this week! They have quickly become one of my all time favourite characters, setting up base camp in my heart for the long haul. Now, seeing as this character is from a new book I’m gonna have to be SUPER careful with what I give away about them because of those pesky spoilers. So, let’s get to it!

This week’s character is…..

*drum roll*

Nate Macauley!

WHO IS THIS CHARACTER?

Ok, so if you’ve been following me anywhere on social media then you’ll know I haven’t been able to shut up about Nate. Nate Macauley is a character from the new YA murder mystery/thriller One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus, aka my new favourite book. And if you’ve read my review then you also know how much I love this book and saw the special shout out I gave to Nate. Now, I’m gonna shower him with love. Nate is your stereotypical criminal “I don’t care about anything or anyone” bad boy (uh huh, sure Nate). He’s also on probation for selling drugs and is now being accused for murder but what else is new? I don’t know how the rest of you feel about bad boys but I love them. I wish I could tell you why but I don’t know. Like ok, if I saw one in real life I’d probably be super scared or think they’re gross. But in books and tv and movies?? I’m all over that. And not to be cliche, but most of the bad boys I like are different. They’re the ones that actually have a heart of gold and put on that intimidating mask as protection. Or they’ve always grown up thinking they’re not worth anything and get to the point where they truly believe that and therefore don’t care about anything or anyone around them. That’s who Nate is. He acts like he’s nothing and has no potential but he couldn’t be more wrong about himself. And the friendship he begins with Bronwyn almost immediately following the murder is probably the best thing he could’ve done for himself in that situation and she helped him see that he’s actually worth something. So yeah, I love Nate so much and he deserves all the love. I strongly urge you all to read this book for many reasons, but mainly to meet Nate.

FUN FACTS

  • His full name is Nathaniel but he hates when people call him that
  • He has dark hair and striking blue eyes
  • He rides a motorcycle
  • He has a pet lizard named Stan
  • He used to go to Catholic school with Bronwyn when they were kids
  • He likes horror films

FAVOURITE QUOTES

  • “I solemnly swear not to murder you today or at any point in the future.”
  • “You can meet my lizard. That’s not a line. I have an actual lizard.”
  • “I thought you’d be better off without me in your life so I just…made that happen. I’m sorry.”
  • “I was in trouble before. Nothing’s changed.”
  • “You want a drug-dealing murder suspect who lied about his not-dead mother as your boyfriend?”

Leave a Reply

