CHARACTER OF THE WEEK ♡ JUNE 23

Hello everyone!! First I just wanna apologize for being somewhat quiet this week, I’ve been pretty distracted with my dumb baseball team (shout out to the Blue Jays!). But I didn’t forget about our weekly lovefest for a special character. Now I’ve had this character in my head all week so it’s gonna be pretty hard to change my mind about them. I’ve already written a review on the book they’re found in so if you’ve been paying close attention a couple names might be coming to mind right now. I won’t leave you in suspense for too long, I’m almost done. Anyways, I met this character early this year and the book they’re in was actually the first book I read in 2017! This character definitely made a great first impression and I love them with all my heart.

So, without further ado, this week’s character is…..

*drum roll*

Lucy Hutton!

WHO IS THIS CHARACTER?

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you might recognize this name. If not, don’t worry! Lucy Hutton is the main protagonist of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, aka one of my favourite books. Seriously, I just want to be reading this book on a constant loop. I’m not kidding, I’ll actually do it. Anyways, Lucy is a 20-something (I really want to say she’s 25 but I’m not 100%) assistant to the co-CEO of a publishing company. Working for a publishing company was Lucy’s biggest dream ever since she went on a field trip when she was a kid. She works so hard at her job, basically doing everything the CEO should be doing and more. I admire Lucy for how driven she is in her work and how much it means to her. She always talks about how much she loves books and what they mean to her and I definitely relate to that. She also works across from her arch-nemesis, Joshua Templeman, and she believes his mission in life is to make her life hell…..sure, Lucy. My favourite thing about Lucy is how strong she is. When you first meet her, she’s somewhat of a pushover, letting one of her coworkers constantly have extensions, but I feel like she does that because she just wants to keep people happy and not make any enemies. But she eventually gets to a point where she won’t be pushed around anymore nor will she let the people she cares about get pushed around and will stand up for them as well. I love seeing her strength in so many ways and I’m proud to call her one of my favourite female characters of all time. I swear, it’s impossible not to love this beautiful, smart, funny girl.

FUN FACTS

  • Her full name is Lucille but only Joshua calls her this to annoy her
  • He also gave her the nickname Shortcake
  • She’s 5’0
  • Her parents own a strawberry farm
  • She loves red lipstick and wears it all the time
  • She collects Smurf figurines
  • Her eyes are robin’s egg blue
  • She loves baking and sometimes bakes cakes for her coworkers’ birthdays
  • She hates Joshua Templeman

Leave a Reply

