MONTH IN REVIEW ✣ JUNE

Hello friends, and happy summer!! It still boggles my mind how fast time goes by and you barely notice it. How are we already at the end of June?? How are we at the halfway mark for 2017??? It’s crazy!! You wanna know another thing I can’t believe? I have officially had this blog for a month! I’ve been having such a great time running this blog so far and I just want to send a quick thank you to all of you who’ve been reading my reviews and following the blog, it really means a lot to me. I feel like we’re hitting a groove here and good things will start happening soon. *fingers crossed* Anyways, let’s get down to the point of this post: the books!

I may have gone a tad bit overboard with how many books I read this month. Not that it’s a bad thing, but it just shows how much free time I had. Or it shows that I’m a complete nerd that does nothing but read…..eh, I’m ok with that! Let’s be real, even if I was super busy I still would’ve managed to read this many books. I mean I did MORE than just reading; I watched a lot of baseball games too! I even managed to go to one earlier this month for my birthday! And let’s not forget the whole graduating from university thing. See? I did more than just reading. Even though there weren’t a whole lot of new releases this month I still managed to pick up some good reads, bringing the grand total to 8 books!! It also helps that I picked up a series with like 6 books and I’m only halfway done with it. Curious as to what they were? Well, I’ll tell you!

JUNE READS

  1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake – ☆☆☆1/2 If you saw my review on this one, then you’ll know that there were a lot of things I both liked and disliked about this book. I loved the originality and uniqueness of the plot but the writing style was just hard at times. But I still love the plot twist at the end because it was something I speculated about at the beginning and I turned out to be right.
  2. Pucked by Helena Hunting – ☆☆☆ Not gonna lie, I picked up this book purely because I’m a sucker for hockey players. It’s true; I hate the sport but I love the players. While that’s why I started it, I ended up really enjoying this book! I loved the two protagonists and all the Canadian things the author managed to slip in (except I’m still mad she had Violet refer to Tim Horton’s as a diner…..not cool). There was a lot of humour in this book, which I love finding in NA, so it definitely made the read a lot more enjoyable.
  3. One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus – ☆☆☆☆☆ Listen, this is the best book of 2017. I don’t know how many times I have to say it until you all understand it. I will be talking about this book until the day I die. It’s thrilling, it’s captivating, it has relatable and well developed characters, and the plot is so crazy and intense that sometimes I couldn’t breathe. I just hate that it’s a standalone because I need more of this story and these characters. I need more Nate Macauley in my life, my one true love. It doesn’t matter how old you are but you need to read this book, ok?
  4. Wait For You by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆☆ This book was great on so many levels. It dealt with heavy and serious subject matter and it was done in a really great way by the author. The characters felt real and were incredibly likeable, especially Cam, and it just felt like a really refreshing read when you compare it to a lot of other NA books. I’d never read anything by this author before this one but I can confidently say that I’m a fan of her writing and I definitely want to read more by her.
  5. Trust In Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆☆ This one was actually more like a novella for Wait For You because it was solely in Cam’s POV, which I loved!! I definitely prefer to have dual POVs in NA because you get to know the characters better and see the story from different angles and not having that in the first book really disappointed me. Thankfully, the author wrote this one and I loved seeing everything from Cam’s eyes. It’s the same story so not much can really be said but I still loved it.
  6. Be With Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆☆1/2 As you can see, I’m heavily invested in this series. I was intrigued by the little tease about Jase and Teresa and the end of the first book which is mainly what made me read this one. And again, it dealt with seriously heavy subject matter and was done in a really great way. I actually ended up enjoying this one more than the first one (no one’s shocked, I do this all the time) and Teresa is hands down my favourite character of the series.
  7. Stay With Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆1/2 To be honest, I never intended to read this one or even the rest of the series. But I love the author’s writing and Calla seemed like a really interesting character from the previous book so I gave it a shot. This one took a turn away from the heavy subjects but it still had a crazy and exciting plot. At first, I didn’t know what to make of her love interest, Jax, but he turned out to be a sweet teddy bear that I absolutely love now. I think what I loved about this book is how it focused on self-acceptance and learning to love your flaws and scars. I really respected that and I love the author for that.
  8. Damaged Like Us by Krista and Becca Ritchie  – ☆☆☆ Arg, this one frustrated me. I mean, the plot and everything was good and I enjoyed it but it didn’t live up to my expectations. The actual writing felt rushed and choppy and I’m still not a fan of the whole “celebrity status” of the characters. Oh, and the “plot twist” ending was so stupid I don’t even want to talk about. I just wish K&B did something else with these characters and their relationship because this definitely wasn’t their best work. But I got to see the Addicted Gang again and meet my new love, Akara Kitsuwon, so silver linings.

In terms of rereads, I think the only book I reread this month was Beautiful Redemption by Jamie McGuire, which I mentioned starting last month. Oh wait, that’s a lie! I remember I reread Ladies Man by Katy Evans as well because I was seriously missing my boy Tahoe. There are so many books I want to reread but I need to chill; I already have enough on my plate. But I’ll try to sneak in a couple more next month. *wink*

READING CHALLENGE UPDATE

As of June 29, I am 61% done my reading challenge!! So far, in the year of 2017 I have read 43 out of 70 books, not including rereads (except for like, 2 books) but I will be adding all of my rereads at the end of the year. I’m also 9 books ahead of schedule, but who’s counting?

Currently, I am reading Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab and Fall With Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn). Yes, I’m reading them both at the same time. Don’t judge me.

I hope the month of June was as good to all of you as it was to me!

What did you read this month? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

