TOP FIVE TUESDAY ♡ YA SERIES

Hi everyone! I hope everyone’s been having a good week so far. So I’ve been doing some thinking, trying to figure out ways that I could add more consistency and activity to this blog and I thought “hey, why not create a top five list?” Thus, Top Five Tuesday was born! Basically, every Tuesday (that I hopefully remember to do this) I’ll be making a top five list of my favourite series, authors, protagonists, etc, and explaining what makes them so great and why I love them so much. I’ll also make some top five lists of my LEAST favourite things (like tropes, for example) just to add a bit of variety and it’ll help you all get to know me that much more. Now remember: this is all purely my opinion and just because this is what I think doesn’t mean that I’m actually right. Anyways, shall we get down to our first Top Five??

The very first Top Five Tuesday goes to…..

*drum roll*

Young Adult Series!

I’m not sure why I did the drum roll, the answer’s in the title. Anywho, I’d like to start this new ~segment~ *jazz hands* with my top five favourite YA series! If you haven’t figured it out already, I’m a YA nut. I love so many things about YA books and I’ll probably be reading these very books until I die; I’m never giving up YA books. Now, just to make it fair to you and myself, this Top Five will be in no particular order because I honestly cannot rank one over another. Just know that I love all of these series with all of my heart and I highly recommend them.

1. THE ARCHIVED BY VICTORIA SCHWAB

Anyone who knows me knows that I love The Archived SO much. It has an incredibly unique concept of “seeing” ghosts of the dead, called Histories, and making sure that they don’t escape into the outside world by placing them back in the Archive. Personally for me, I read this because I was a history major in university so it was cool to see a history concept like an archive being twisted in this way. Additionally, the writing by Schwab is just amazing. It is because of this very book that she is my favourite author. Her writing and her characters are just beyond perfect. It’s a shame that this book is so underrated because it deserves to be read by everyone.

2. THE LUNAR CHRONICLES BY MARISSA MEYER

At first glance, this series doesn’t seem all that appealing. But there are so many wonderful things to say about it but I don’t have that kind of time. What Meyer did with this series is take four beloved fairytales (Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White), fuse them with some sci-fi, and create the most unique fairytale retelling I’ve ever read. What truly makes this series is the main female characters. They are all strong in their own right and have a great and supportive friendship between them. Sure, the guys in this series are great too but the best thing is how the girls are always the one saving the boys and they don’t even care. I will admit the first book of this series is a bit hard to get into, what with all the sci-fi elements, but once you hit that halfway point it’s smooth sailing.

3. SIX OF CROWS BY LEIGH BARDUGO

This series is, in a word, a masterpiece. And I’m not even exaggerating because every single person who has read this book will tell you the same thing. This was actually the first book by Bardugo that I read, instead of her famous Grisha Trilogy, and I’m glad because the writing in this series is like 10x better. This book has everything you could ever want. It has a thrilling and nail biting plot, incredible world building, characters of all shapes and colours and orientations, and beautiful ships. This is one of those books where you can’t pick a favourite character because they’re ALL your favourite character. I could easily say that Nina is my favourite but then I remember how amazing Inej is, but then there’s the sweetie that’s Wylan and the cutthroat Kaz and the brooding Matthias and the charming Jesper…..you can’t pick a favourite it’s impossible. And that’s what makes this series so incredible. I mean, it’s also about a bunch of teenage convicts going on an impossible heist so that’s cool too.

4. PENRYN AND THE END OF DAYS BY SUSAN EE

Yet another underrated gem, this series is one of the most creative ones I’ve read in a while. In a nutshell, it’s about an angel apocalypse and shows that angels are not as peaceful as we’ve perceived them to be. The hero, Penryn, is one of my favourite protagonists ever. She’s smart and witty and is strong both physically and mentally. Then there’s Raffe, my bad boy angel, who is just beyond words. Put those two together and you have magic. Besides those two, one of my favourite things is that the plot never gets boring and doesn’t suffer the “second book syndrome” where book 2 of a series is essentially a filler. Nope, every book is important in this series and it’s wonderful. Trust me, you will be beyond impressed with this series.

5. THE SELECTION BY KIERA CASS

Anyone who really, truly knows me knows that this is MY series. I remember a couple years ago that my friend recommended this to me and it was one of the first times I really trusted someone else’s rec for me and in the end this is the series that really got me back into reading. This series is basically like The Hunger Games meets The Bachelor but isn’t as cheesy as it sounds. It’s definitely more than just a girl falling in love with a prince and has a bunch of action and heartbreak along the way. Some of my all time favourite quotes come from this series and no one will own my heart the same way that Maxon Schreave does. I know this series isn’t for everyone but it’s so incredibly special to me and I’ll never forget it.

Anyways, those are my Top Five Young Adult Series! I know that there are a bunch of other series that I could’ve included or that deserve to be here, but these are the ones that are near and dear to my heart.

What are your Top Five series?? Leave a comment below!!

Leave a Reply

