TOP FIVE TUESDAY ♡ MOVIE ADAPTATIONS

Welcome to another Top Five Tuesday everyone!! Alright, so we pretty much live in a day and age where book to movie adaptations are being churned out like butter. That’s not to say that movie adaptations never existed in the previous century, because they definitely did, but it just feels like these days more and more books and series are being optioned and adapted. Some of them are good, some of them are not. In the past couple years I discovered a little secret: separate the adaptation from the book and you’ll be a happy camper. Basically what I mean by that is you learn to respect the story in both mediums and if you understand that not everything that happens in a book can 100% be translated into screen but the heart and the message of the story is still intact then you’ll be satisfied. Neat trick, eh? Ever since I discovered this little secret I’ve been so much better at handling adaptations, especially with YA which gets SO many adaptations you’d think Oprah was handing them out. Anyways, that being said let’s get down to business!

Here is this week’s Top Five Tuesday: Movie Adaptations!

1. THE HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE

As far as book to movie adaptations go, this one is hands down the best one I’ve ever encountered. First of all, this is my favourite book of the series so I’m probably a bit biased in saying that but I remember rereading the book right before seeing the movie, so it’d be fresh in my mind, and it was pretty spot on. All the scenes I wanted to see included were there, the characters were wonderful and the new actors captured them beautifully, and overall I was really happy. Now, not every adaptation can be perfect and obviously this one had some changes and additional scenes, like all the meetings between President Snow and Plutarch Heavensbee but I liked how that showed you the Capitol’s side of the story and you got the whole idea. And yeah, some people were still pissed about how they didn’t include Peeta’s leg being amputated but I’m fine with that oversight. The changes and additions were so small that they didn’t take away from the entire story and in the end Catching Fire was a kickass movie.

tumblr_nm30hziOOE1r3gb0uo1_400

2. THE MAZE RUNNER

Now, what happened with this movie is basically the opposite of what happened with Catching Fire. Yes, the plot was still pretty much the same but they changed A LOT. But here’s the thing that not only the director, Wes Ball, constantly stated but the author as well: not everything that happens in the book can translate to screen. The thing that immediately comes to mind is the telepathic connection between Thomas and Teresa. In the book, it’s completely possible to portray this without coming off as cheesy but in a movie? Yikes. Some other changes happened too, like condensing the amount of time Thomas actually spends in the Maze to just make it a better timeline in the movie, but overall the plot, message, and heart of the story was intact. And the fact that the movie was made on a relatively small budget, was filmed in like 3 weeks, and had pretty unknown actors (minus Dylan O’Brien of course) and managed to be successful?? That’s pretty damn good. That Maze seemed so real it still boggles my mind that they only built one real working door and set it up in the middle of a field.

tumblr_oo1nwzv9R11sagvlzo7_500

3. THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA: PRINCE CASPIAN

Listen, I love this movie more than I love myself. I remember that I was “forced” to read The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe in grade 6 but I have no idea when I watched the movie. It’s just blank. But Prince Caspian? I remember VIVIDLY. I think I saw a commercial or trailer for the movie first which made me super excited because I loved the first one but I decided I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie. I think I was 13 at the time?? Anyways, I read the book and loved it (my copy had all these stills from the movie it was great) and saw the movie twice in theatres. I was so in love. Now, is it a perfect adaptation? No. Is it a bad adaptation? In my opinion, no! I think I was too entertained and distracted by all the cute boys in this movie to really be concerned about the closeness of the plot but for its entertainment value I think it’s great. Plus the score is FANTASTIC. I always say that if I ever kill a man I need to have “Miraz Crowned” playing in the background. It’s epic.

tumblr_ncv7w085l91rl6zbso6_250.gif

4. LOVE ROSIE

Ok, ok, I watched the movie before I even considered reading the book. And ok, ok, I watched the movie because it was starring Sam Claflin and I love him. But that movie is SO GOOD. The book is really good too and I’m still amazed at how the adaptation happened because the book was written in the style of letters and emails and IMs so there’s obviously no way in hell there can be a perfect adaptation for this. But the overall story and plot was very true to the book and the acting was wonderful and in the end it’s just such a beautiful story. This is definitely one of those books to movie adaptations where you don’t necessarily need to read the book before seeing the movie and enjoy it regardless, which kinda emphasizes my point of separating the book from the adaptation! You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll be happy.

tumblr_ocweasTimO1vxovcqo4_500

5. HARRY POTTER

IMAGINE I make a movie adaptations list and not include Harry Potter. This film series changed the game for everything. Not gonna lie, I watched the first four movies before reading any of the books…..and then I read books 5-7 before seeing the movies…..aaaaand then I read books 3, 4, 2, 1 in that order. But my dumb reading order isn’t the point. The point is that Harry Potter is just the best all around. The movies aren’t completely perfect but I still love what they managed to produce. It’s probably cliche to say that it was like magic before our eyes but it’s a series ABOUT magic so it’s a pretty fair assessment. I feel like this series did so much for everyone, whether it made you love reading again or provided you with an escape from reality, it’s something that’s undeniably special. Also, Prisoner of Azkaban is the best movie if you ask anyone they’ll give you the same answer but Order of the Phoenix definitely has a special place in my heart. And please see this wonderful Tumblr post on why the movies are so great and you’ll see where I’m coming from.

tumblr_mw1nbrXsd61s8f8y8o1_500

Well those are my Top Five movie adaptations!! While this list was strictly about movies, there are some television adaptations that I enjoyed a lot too, such as The Lying Game (which was gone WAY too soon…..RIP) and Thirteen Reasons Why. I know there are a bunch of adaptations coming out soon, such as The Darkest Minds and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (which I just learned would be a movie like a week ago) and I’m hoping to add them to the list!

What’s your favourite book to movie adaptation? Which book would you want to see adapted? Leave a comment below!

(Disclaimer: I found all of these gifs on Tumblr and I 100% do not own them nor am I claiming them as my own.)

3 thoughts on “TOP FIVE TUESDAY ♡ MOVIE ADAPTATIONS

Leave a Reply

