MONTH IN REVIEW ✣ JULY

Hello friends! Another month has flown by and we’re basically halfway through summer. Part of me wants to say that July went by slowly but when I think about it, it really didn’t. I know I saw this all the time but it honestly boggles my mind that tomorrow is August. If I was still in high school I’d probably start complaining because that would mean there’s only one month left of summer. Man, those were the days. Anyways, enough of this existential nonsense let’s get down to the books!

Much like June, July proved to be a pretty good month for reading in the sense of quantity. Was it a good month for reading in quality? Yes and no. I’d say that the majority of books I read were pretty good but there were a couple that weren’t exactly up to par with the rest. One read was definitely a case of bad judgement on my part so I take full responsibility for that one. But in the end, it was still a good month. Our grand total for July reads is a whopping 8 books, something my reading challenge much appreciated! Wondering what I read this month? I’ll tell you!

JULY READS

  1. Fall With Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆1/2 As I mentioned in my last Month in Review, I recently started the Wait For You series by Armentrout and got about halfway through it in June and finished the other half in July. While this one didn’t quite measure up to the previous books in the series I still enjoyed it a lot. I liked how it had more of a thriller feel to it rather than dealing with a super heavy topic. I thought Roxy was an adorable protagonist and Reese was like that super hot cop right out of a fantasy. I also really enjoyed how there was a lot of communication between the two and there wasn’t any last minute drama NA is famous for.
  2. Forever With You by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆1/2 This one, much like the previous book, wasn’t on the same level as the first two books of this series but I enjoyed it nonetheless. One of my favourite things about this book was how it changed my mind about Steph’s character and made me see her in a different light. It went back to a more serious and heavy subject matter but I really like what Armentrout did with it. I think my only problem was that Nick’s character was the typical NA guy and since I had constantly praised this series for avoiding that kind of guy thus far it kind of threw me. Still good, but not fantastic.
  3. Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab – ☆☆☆☆1/2 We all know how much I love Schwab and how her books are my favourites and this one did not disappoint. I loved everything from the overall writing to the world building to the characters and it all came together for an explosive finale to a great duology. The only problem I had was that it took me so long to read it but that’s my fault, not the book’s. I’m still mad at Schwab for the last 20 pages of this book though. Why did she do that to me? Why?
  4. Fire In You by Jennifer L. Armentrout (writing as J. Lynn) – ☆☆☆ This was probably my least favourite of this series and it’s sad because I had so much love for this series. The thing that really bugged me was the fact that there was this huge time jump from book 5 to this one and it made little to no sense. Jillian’s character was great and I loved her but her love interest, Brock, he was just a big pile of meh for me. There was also the age difference that made me uncomfortable and some messy drama at the end that wasn’t necessary so that definitely ruined this book for me. It’s sad for such a good series to go out on somewhat of a sour note like this.
  5. When It’s Real by Erin Watt – ☆☆☆☆ Oh this was such a cute book!! I love Erin Watt so much and when I found out their next book was about fake dating I immediately knew I had to pick it up. Thankfully this book did not disappoint whatsoever! I loved the plot, I love the characters both individually and together, and I loved how it really made you think about the “behind the scenes” part of celebrity culture. This read definitely made me happy.
  6. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge – ☆☆☆1/2 I had an interesting time with this one but overall I enjoyed it. I really liked the retelling and thought it was very well done. It was definitely darker than what I was expecting but that’s probably what made me enjoy it so much. But the ending was such a cop-out and it bothered me a lot. I really wish it didn’t end like that because it would’ve been SO much better.
  7. Sometimes Never by Cheryl McIntyre – ☆ Yeah, this book was a mistake. I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea, something about the synopsis told me it sounded good. I think I just added it to my iPad so long ago and forgot what it was actually about when I started reading it and that didn’t really help. I felt like the author was trying to hard to make Hope “different” from other girls (which is stupid) that it got embarrassing. That, plus the unbelievable insta-love and gross and misunderstood perceptions of self harm and mental illness was a recipe for disaster.
  8. Reign of Serpents by Eleanor Herman  – ☆☆☆☆☆ By far, this was my favourite read this month. I have been invested in this series for a couple of years now and I’m so happy that it hasn’t let me down. The first book was great, the second book was great, and the third book was great. This series is definitely one for entertainment and I am thoroughly entertained. I’m still not over some of the plot twists that happened in this book and I’m still flying over my ship, Katerina and Hephaestion, sailing. I can see so many things building up to the explosive finale and I just want it in my hands now, please.

In terms of rereads, I managed to reread a couple books. I kind of got in this funk of not knowing what to read so I decided to reread something to hold me over. One of those rereads was Paper Princess by Erin Watt (I told you, I’m on an Erin Watt kick!) and the other was Managed by Kristen Callihan which is so amazing everyone needs to read it.

READING CHALLENGE UPDATE

As of July 31, I am 73% done my reading challenge!! So far, in the year of 2017 I have read 51 out of 70 books, not including rereads (except for like, 2 books) but I will be adding all of my rereads at the end of the year. I’m also 11 books ahead of schedule, but who’s counting?

Currently, I am reading Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova and I’m really enjoying it! I wish someone told me there was a bad boy character because I would’ve picked this up much sooner.

What did you read this month? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

