TOP FIVE TUESDAY ♡ AUTHORS

Hello friends! I hope everyone is doing well and getting some good reads in. As it’s becoming our usual routine, it’s Tuesday which means it’s time for another Top Five listing! I’m kind of excited about today’s list because everyone has their favourite books but figuring out who your favourite authors are is like Christmas morning and an epiphany all at the same time. When you have those authors that you know you can trust, that you know will never let you down, and know that you’ll always get good quality content out of, it’s just the best feeling in the book world. Now, I’ve had some experiences where I thought an author was my favourite and that they wouldn’t let me down but then they did and let me tell you, it’s the worst. When this happens you start questioning almost everything. But I’ll save that for another list and another time. Right now, we’re gonna focus on the positives so let’s get down to it.

Here is today’s Top Five Tuesday: Authors!

1. VICTORIA SCHWAB

I know I’ve already mentioned this MULTIPLE times but sometimes I can’t help myself. Victoria Schwab is hands down my favourite author. She just has such a way with words that leave you so unbelievably captivated. The first book I ever read by her is also one of my favourite books like, ever: The Archived. She also has a few other series under her belt, such as the Shades of Magic series (which she writes under the name V.E. Schwab) and the Monsters of Verity series. I can’t wait to see what’s next for her but I am sure that I will love it! Also, if you’re not following her on Twitter yet I highly recommend doing so; she is truly a delight.

2. LEIGH BARDUGO

Leigh Bardugo is yet another queen that I love so much. Famous for her two series, The Grisha Trilogy (which is apparently being changed to the Shadow and Bone series, if I heard correctly) and the Six of Crows duology, she has created such an amazing world and characters that many adore. While Grisha is very good in its own right, I’d have to say that Six of Crows is definitely her best work and you can see how much she’s grown as a writer. For me, at least, Bardugo is an author that doesn’t necessarily give into fanservice…..you know, that thing where authors change their plans halfway through because fans want the protagonist to be with a different person or want the plot to go a different way. Hey, TV writers do this too and it’s still annoying. But with Bardugo, in my opinion, doesn’t give into that and does what she feels is right. She’s also great at including diversity and representation in her books, something that many YA authors still have a hard time with, and hasn’t yet killed for shock value. Also, she and Victoria Schwab have a wonderful friendship and I love seeing their interactions on twitter.

3. KRISTEN CALLIHAN

I only started reading Kristen Callihan this year but she has quickly become one of my favourite authors. While I know she’s written a lot of Adult romance books, I know her more for her New Adult romance books and they are SO good. The two series I’ve read, Game On and VIP are both great in their own right and incredibly addictive. One is about a bunch of football players and the other is about a rock band and while they sound unbelievably cliche, they’re really not. All of the boys in Game On have something in them that separates them from every other NA athlete I’ve read about and I’m glad they’re so different. What I love most about Callihan, other than the wonderful book boyfriends she has given me, is that her books are always so funny and have such a light charm to them but when they need to be serious they are. I have never once been let down by her books and I’m hoping it stays that way.

4. RENEE AHDIEH

If you ever want to read a great fairytale retelling, I highly recommend reading Renee Ahdieh. As far as I know, she only has two series, The Wrath and the Dawn and Flame in the Mist, and they are both fantastic. I don’t know what it is about her writing but the things she’s able to do with these original fairytales and make them her own is astounding. She can build worlds, develop characters, and write beautiful love stories that just melt your heart. Oh, and her books always have these great feminist undertones that feel so important not only for the story and the time they’re set in but for any time. Her female characters always feel like ones you can root for and believe in and the “lessons” you learn from them inspire you. Honestly, I want Renee Ahdieh to write my life. I’m sure she’d do a great job with it.

5. EMMA CHASE

Emma Chase is very similar to Kristen Callihan in respects of what kind of content she creates and again it’s the NA that I’m here for. While I know she has at least 3 series, the two I’m most familiar with are Tangled and Royally and they’re both truly wonderful. What I love most about Chase’s writing is that it ventures into so many tropes that I love, especially in the Royally series, and her characters end up feeling so relatable. With the Tangled series, Chase did something that I’d never encountered before in literally any book: she broke the fourth wall. Yep, she had her narrator, Drew Evans, constantly speaking to the reader almost like how an actor breaks the fourth wall on a TV sitcom. Think of Will Smith in Fresh Prince of Bel-Air or even Matthew Broderick in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. And because Drew constantly did that it just made the book so much funnier and more enjoyable. I love that Emma Chase is able to be versatile in her writing like this and it’s because of that that she’s one of my favourites.


Well, those are my Top Five Authors! Don’t get me wrong, there are so many other authors that I love but these five deserved a special shout out.

Until next time,

signature

Who are your favourite authors? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

